Skip to main content

Six top players in tiebreak event

Awaiting spectators this year in the Porsche Arena is an attractive premiere: six top players split up into two groups will contest the Turkish Airlines Tiebreak on Monday, 23 April at 6.30 local time. A spectacular competition: based on the round robin system used at the WTA Finals in Singapore, each player plays a champions tie-break against each other. The group winners go through to the final. The prize for the winner is 1,000,000 bonus miles from Turkish Airlines. The six contestants in the tournament within the tournament are already known: Angelique Kerber, Julia Görges, Laura Siegemund, Kristina Mladenovic, Caroline Garcia and Coco Vandeweghe. 

“We work hard to be the most innovative tournament on the WTA Tour and to stay that way in the future,” said Tournament Director Markus Günthardt. “With the Porsche tie-break event, we will offer our audience a real highlight right on the first day of the main draw matches.” 

Julia Görges vs Caroline Garcia 10-8
Angelique Kerber vs Kristina Mladenovic 11-9
Laura Siegemund vs Caroline Garcia 11-9
Kristina Mladenovic vs Coco Vandeweghe 10-4
Julia Görges vs Laura Siegemund 10-2
Angelique Kerber vs. Coco Vandeweghe 10-4

Julia Görges vs Angelique Kerber 10-8